top of page

The Return! My Reaction Post to Dragon Ball Super, Episode 1

Last night, something special happened. After years of no new Dragon Ball Z episodes and after wishing for something to erase the memories of Dragon Ball GT, we were treated to the brand new series, Dragon Ball Super. Of course, the series has been playing for some time now in Japan and most of my friends who are big fans have been watching the sub. Now normally I would have hopped on the chance to watch the sub but I wanted to experience the dub because that’s what I grew up with. So I’ve been very patient in this situation. So with a drink in my hand and everyone out of the room, here were my reactions to the first episode!

  • This...is an Interesting opening theme. I’ll have to get used to this. Nothing can really compare to the original DBZ theme.

  • Goku is a working stiff now? Pushing a tractor?

  • This an interesting outfit for Goten. I enjoyed the variation of Goku’s outfit he had in DBZ but I can dig it.

  • I love how they really are modernizing the show. I don’t really remember Goku praying in the previous show. I assume it’s not to God but I believe it might be to King Yamma, which is still cool.

  • Going to be interesting getting an episodic version of the Battle of the Gods (and apparently Return of F). Either way, Beerus is such a boss bruh.

  • The weird food fetish thing is a bit Dragon Ball “ish.” It’s crazy how menacing he could be if not for that. But I guess when you can destroy half of a planet with a tap on a table, who cares about being scary?

  • I hope Whis gets a chance to show out. He’s a great foil for Beerus but I want to see him throw hands more often.

  • I’m so used to him being called Hercule that this Mr. Satan thing weirded me out. I mean I’ve always known that’s his real name but it’s just weird hearing it in the dub.

  • Not entirely sure how I feel about the “we used the Dragon Balls to wipe people’s memory of Majin Buu” plot point. I mean it makes sense but I don’t know…seems cheap.

  • Gohan…I want to be proud of you again. But looking at you right now, I can’t even fathom to think you’ll be the guy I was so proud of during the Cell Saga. And Videl…why do you look like this?

  • Look at Gohan father. Always watching over him. Shout out to Piccolo.

  • Trunks and Goten have always been funny. I hope they play off that this series. Complete badasses but the show has always reminded you that they are still naïve kids.

  • Bulma is underrated as far as importance to the franchise. Bulma is by far the most importatnt woman of the show. She holds so much significance from the very beginning.

  • Away with the dinosaurs. Insert big ass snakes. I see you, Super.

  • Trunks had to show off something slight. Goten, please don’t grow up to be like your brother. Look up to Goku.

  • Gohan out here getting married? Wait isn’t this only 6 months after Buu? How old is he?

  • Mr. Satan ain’t a bad dude. He’s a buffoon, he’s a liar, but he’s got a nice heart.

  • Goku is an idiot. Math is not his strong suit.

  • Chi Chi don’t even care that Goku is an absent father bruh! She got the money!

  • Wait…NO VEGETA appearance this episode?! That is a NO NO.

  • Bruh and they don’t tell you what happens next week? That was such an important piece about DBZ!

  • I’m satisfied with this intro episode if only because it brought back so many memories. Impact wise, it’s going to be a slow burn for now. I mean Raditz showed on the first episode of the Saiyan Saga, Trunks popped on Frieza in the Android Saga. But let's #StiktothePoint, I’M HERE FOR DRAGON BALL SUPER!


bottom of page